BTW, Speaking about justice…

11/11

Posted on: November 11, 2010

Today is remembrance day, a memorial day to remember sacrifices in times of war.

I haven’t been blogging as much lately, not because I ran out of things to say about social justice or biotech or whatever catches my interest. But because I find it difficult to put into words the complexities of all that is happening around my work.

While I have been surrounded by books in the comfort of my university library, many of my friends are working “in the field”. From strengthening democracy through parliaments around the world, to campaigning for better education and health through various channels. Some are even out in remote villages building infrastructure, or in very dangerous places that they need round the clock protection to do their work.

I respect them. I envy them.

My work is policy research oriented, which in short means – paperwork. I felt meaningless.

But I believe that we all have our roles in the world. Even the capitalists too, as much as we blame them for many of their exploitations. In today’s 2 minutes of silence, I realise that oftentimes I forget that we all matter.

My work is mostly research. Identifying problems, verifying problems, learning from problems, and hopefully being able to offer solution(s) to problems. Even if I’m not “out there”, hands on, etc…. my work could help the people working out there make better decisions, design better programs, and hopefully create better lives.

Today we commemorate the sacrifices made in times of war, the first world war. But perhaps today is also a good day to remind us that war is not just about dropping bombs and shooting people. There is a much bigger, invisible, ongoing war. War against injustice, against deprivation of basic rights. While military war have bodies and buildings to count as casualty, war against injustice is more often silent, invisible, sadly with greater casualties. This war will be lost if we refuse to even see injustice taking place.

We are all heroes. What we do today makes a difference in the lives of people in the future – near and far. It’s up to us, you and me.

Leave a Reply

The Author

Lishia Erza

Searching for answers about life, these are the ones I have found.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


  • None
  • kefirlime: Please do share. Thanks for loving it :P On a more serious note... it is worrying that we have taken for granted (even forgotten) about the essence o
  • ubz: Lishia, love this. allow me to share, seems that a lot of people *maybe for generations* has already forgotten the essence of pancasila, the philosop
  • alvan gunawan: Well said mam.. Couldn't agree more.. Love it..

Lishia’s TwitterFeed

Favoured by

  • 2,219 Byters
